New FreeNAS Build - general nas + plex

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings,
i've outgrown my current Synology NAS, so something bigger and better has to take its place.

I'm new to FreeNAS/FreeBSD and server hardware so bear with me(yes i've read the starter guide's an I've stalked the forums for a while...)

This NAS will be used as a backup target for several pc's(about 7), general network storage, plex- and nextcloud docker and whatever else I come up with ;)

I plan to use this nas for the coming years so some components are chosen with future expansion in mind.

Parts will be purchased in Germany, so some hardware is not as easily found as in the US, also I've had trouble finding used parts(that arent the same price or more expensive than new).

Hardware:
Already purchased:

Case + PSU: Supermicro CSE-846E16-R1200B (4U, 24Bay, 1200W Redundent PSU, 1 Expander)

Planned:
MB: Supermicro X11SSH-CTF (LSI 3008, 2x 10Gbe)

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5

RAM: 32GB DDR4 ECC (2x16GB) Crucial or Samsung (whatever I can source cheaper)
Crucial
Samsung

BOOT: probably some ssd(dont really like the idea of usb-sticks, although some users report years of use without issue, satadoms are just to expensive for what they offer imho)
maybe mirrored
had these in mind(resonably cheap):Patriot Flare 120GB

Storage: 8x 8TB WD Red in RAIDZ2

Notes:
- No 10Gbe at the moment(no switch or nic), just planned for futture upgrade
- 4k streaming in the future
- A relatively quiet operation would be preferred
- Backup of the important documents on the old nas, media files are replacable

Questions:
1) What cable do I need to connect the LSI 3008 to the backplane?(I know this question is asked a lot, I just dont want to get the wrong one, maybe a link would be nice)
2) Is the LSI3008 enough to handle all bays(for future expansion)?
3) Will 64gb be enough(add another VDEV the same size)?
4) Did I miss anything on the hardware front? - any recomendation?

thank you for your time :)