Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

[NEW] FreeNAS Build - Files/Plex/VM

Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
7
Thanks
0
#1
Hello!

This is my first second time designing a FreeNAS box. Now that I've had some time to research and save, I'd like to have another go at this. Currently, I have data stored on a few external/desktop HDDs and I can't see that being a viable option for the near future.

My main goals are:
  1. File server: Central place for all my important files, photos, music, etc (2 users currently)
  2. Plex server: 2-4 1080p streams at any one time
  3. Transmission
  4. VMs: This isn't important right now, but would like to start playing with them eventually.
With those goals in mind, I've come up with some specs, I am welcome to feedback

CPU
Xeon E3-1240 v6 3.7GHz NewEgg $300
Passmark: ~10K; I have some H.265 10bit movies, not sure how this CPU would handle them
Xeon E5-2670 v2 @2.5GHz 10core/20threads ~$130
Passmark: ~15000​
MotherBoard
SuperMicro X11SSM-F Newegg $220
SuperMicro X9SRL-F ~$220 Ebay
RAM
Crucial 16GB DDR4 ECC UDIMM Ebay $130
RAM is quite hard to find it seems, and expensive! Haven't decided if to get 2x16GB or 1x16GB for now and upgrade later
Samsung 64GB (4x16GB) ECC RDIMM M393B2G70DB0-CMA $108 Ebay
Boot Drives
Kingsont A400 120GB $20x2 = $40 NewEgg
These are cheap I think I will get two in mirror​
CASE
Fractal Design R5 $130 Newegg
Not much to say, it has 6 bays plus two for my SSDs​
PSU
Corsair HX1000W 80+ PLATINUM $0
Yes, it's overkill, but I already own it​
DRIVES
(WD Red OR Seagate EXOS) 6x6TB 6x8TB in RAIDZ2 = 17.18TB 22.91TB usable ~1300
Is there any reason not to go with Seagate Exos? About the same price with longer warranty, also faster RPMs​


All things told, between $1800-2k for the entire unit.

Am I missing anything?
Constructive feedback? Suggestions?
Do you think the cooling will be sufficient?
Other suggestions for hard drives? Or cheaper RAM?

Any help much appreciated!
 
Last edited:

sretalla

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
950
Thanks
241
#2
(WD Red OR Seagate EXOS) 6x6TB in RAIDZ2 = 17.18TB usable ~1200Is there any reason not to go with Seagate Exos? About the same price with longer warranty, also faster RPMs
Faster spin = more heat in your relatively small case... leading to louder fan noise. You are unlikely to see any performance benefit, but the longer warranty is not a bad thing if you don't care about the rest.

EDIT: although I was thinking of the R3 when I said the case is small...
 

Velcade

FreeNAS Aware
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
67
Thanks
16
#3
Any reason you're not looking at used Xeon E5-26xx v2 chips? You can get more performance with less money. DDR3 memory is cheaper as well.
For the $650 you're planning on spending you could get a E5-2690v2, SuperMicro X9SRL-F, and 128GB (8x16GB) RAM.


Just a thought.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
7
Thanks
0
#4
Any reason you're not looking at used Xeon E5-26xx v2 chips? You can get more performance with less money. DDR3 memory is cheaper as well.
For the $650 you're planning on spending you could get a E5-2690v2, SuperMicro X9SRL-F, and 128GB (8x16GB) RAM.


Just a thought.
Wow, these components are dirt cheap! I may have to rethink my plan.

Do you know if any of the applications I listed prefer single thread performance? Or will they use all the cores I can throw at it.

EDIT: I noticed the X9SRL-F has mostly SATA2 (3Gb/s) interface. Does this mean I would have to purchase an HBA for SATA3?
 
Last edited:

IQless

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
115
Thanks
47
#5
I noticed the X9SRL-F has mostly SATA2 (3Gb/s) interface. Does this mean I would have to purchase an HBA for SATA3?
Unless you are going to build an all SSD pool, this will most likely not be an issue.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
7
Thanks
0
#6
I've updated the initial post with different parts!

Thanks to @Velcade I was able to find some really good deals on used parts for Ivy Bridge compatibility. With all the savings, I splurged on 64GB of RAM (only $100) and decided on 8TB configuration giving me an extra ~6TB usable for only an extra $150

I came across an incredibly good deal on Newegg last night for 8TB WD Red's at only $180ea, was only allowed to buy two, though.
 

Velcade

FreeNAS Aware
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
67
Thanks
16
#7
I've updated the initial post with different parts!

Thanks to @Velcade I was able to find some really good deals on used parts for Ivy Bridge compatibility. With all the savings, I splurged on 64GB of RAM (only $100) and decided on 8TB configuration giving me an extra ~6TB usable for only an extra $150

I came across an incredibly good deal on Newegg last night for 8TB WD Red's at only $180ea, was only allowed to buy two, though.
Nice!

Damn those boards have gone up in price over the past 2 months.

Enjoy that 2670 v2. It's been great for my use.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
7
Thanks
0
#8
Quick Update:

I've bought all the parts (excluding HDDs) and upon testing, my RAM is not detectable in the DIMMC1 slot. Same RAM is detectable in all other slots. Booting with RAM in slot DIMMC1 does not get past splash screen with error B7. Some things I have tried:
  • Re-seating RAM
  • Re-seating CPU
  • Cleaning CPU contacts (alcohol)
  • Forcing 1866MHz speed in bios
The CPU pins on the mobo don't look damaged. At this point, I have contacted the Ebay seller for the mobo and they want me to ship it back to be tested.

Any other suggestions before I send it back? Thank you!
 

Velcade

FreeNAS Aware
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
67
Thanks
16
#9
Is your motherboard installed in your case?

Check your motherboard standoffs and make sure there aren't any extras, FD loves to pre-install them, that are causing grounding issues with your board. It'd be the top middle standoff.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
7
Thanks
0
#10
Is your motherboard installed in your case?

Check your motherboard standoffs and make sure there aren't any extras, FD loves to pre-install them, that are causing grounding issues with your board. It'd be the top middle standoff.
It is installed in the case currently. I did find one towards the middle-center that seemed a little odd placement, so I took it out. I will check again for any I might have missed. Thank you!
 

Velcade

FreeNAS Aware
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
67
Thanks
16
#11
It is installed in the case currently. I did find one towards the middle-center that seemed a little odd placement, so I took it out. I will check again for any I might have missed. Thank you!
Seems like a grounding issue. Pull the board and boot externally. See if the RAM slot works that way while you're double checking your standoffs.
 

tfran1990

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 18, 2017
Messages
115
Thanks
14
#12
Like what velcade was saying, there has been posts on here where a standoff has caused issues just with one dim slot.

Also if you have a Best Buy near you, when the WD easy stores are on sale you can get the 8TB white lable for ~130
 
Top