New disk automatically included in volume!??!

Status
Not open for further replies.

audix

Dabbler
FreeNas 8.0.1-Beta2-amd64
I am new at freenas. :)

A newly installed disk got somehow automatically added to a volume. How can this happen and how can I remove it (I want to create a new volume just for this disk)?

I had 6 disks in a raidz2. One went bad. (http://forums.freenas.org/showthrea...ear-after-scrub.-Need-help-understanding-logs.)
Clicked "replace" in the gui for the disk (not sure if this was correct :confused: ).
Removed the disk.

Added another disk. Created a volume on it and nfs exported. Worked fine.

Added another disk. When I tried to create a new volume there were no disks/devices to choose from. Choosing "view disks" for my original volume showed that the new disk was included in this volume.

(The two added disks are both smaller than those in the original volume.)

zpool status for the pool shows the disk as Unavail and it says in the end "was /dev/gptid/<the broken disks uid>".

I have tried to remove it by "zpool detach <id>" and "zpool remove <id>".

There has been a change in the device names for some of the disks. I thought this would not happen in 8.0.1?

How can this happen? I am sure I did something wrong... :rolleyes:

BTW, where can I find the correct procedure to replace a broken disk? I have read the documentation and searched the forums.

Tekkie

Patron
I am exactly in the same position! I had a drive fail as well a week or so ago, and a 2nd shortly after that. :(

Yesterday I got my first replacement disk and I stuck into the slot left by the 1st dead drive.

I go to Storage -> Volume -> show disks -> ada5 (Replace) -> Pop up replace with ada5/***XX (in place) -> OK
System does something for a while (at least the UI is locked), but after that the drive is still reported as being unavailable and the array degraded, rebooted the box etc. nothing changes the new drive still appears to be unavailable.