Need Help - 1st NAS project

mehtaparth94

Cadet
Dear All, Hi - I am Parth from India. I am 25 and A bit of a computer nerd.

I never have been able to handle linux, and this is my first try at utilising an already spare desktop for my small office personal use.

My office basically has PDF files, Excel, Word, Accounting data to be backed up.
Also i wanted to access these files that are backed up from outside my LAN.
Plus - i have some system software running on windows7 PC which i was planning to shift on to virtual VM on this FreeNAS DIY.

I have created a pool, created a new user for my sharing on macos but I am not able to install any plugin.
I have installed and reinstalled the FreeNAS OS atleast 10 or more times with different versions, - 11.2 STABLE, now 11.2-Release even 11.1lastest release. But some or the other Errors come in.. Also lot of Random Reboots

My Configuration is as below:-

CPU - Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4150 CPU @ 3.50GHz (4 cores)
RAM - 8GB DDR4
MOBO - ECS H81H3-M4
HDD - 500 GB Sata HDD 7200 RPM - Plan to have 1TBx2 mirrored

Bios has been updated to the latest version

I am a complete NOOB on this FREENAS bit, i hope someone with patience can help me trouble shoot this.
Please help me Figure this out

Holt Andrei Tiberiu

Contributor
RAM - 8GB DDR4

On 8 GB Ram i would not run VM's, it is a bare minimum for freenas.

MOBO - ECS H81H3-M4

Not my first choice, or last as a MB for Freenas.

What model is you PSU?

If you are sure the PSU is fine, try the folowing:

Get a USB Drive and put MEMTEST on it, and let it run until it finishes the memory testing.
Download the MemTest86 V4.3.7 (OLD RELEASE)
and "burn" it to a usb drive with RUFUS
https://www.memtest86.com/download.htm

Maybe your memory is faulty.

Also at this point, I am assuming you do not have any over-clock settings in the bios, under volt or over volt settings.

mehtaparth94

Cadet