My problems with release numbering scheme and constant feature change

tobtschik

Cadet
Hello FreeNAS developers and FreeNAS community,

I think I am still quite new to the whole FreeBSD and FreeNAS thing. I am actively using FreeNAS at home since version 11.0. I have an Asus P10S-I Mini ITX Server board with a Pentium G4620, 32 GB of ECC RAM, 4x 4 TB WD Red in a RAIDZ2-Pool, am using 6 jails and two VMs (Windows 10 and Rancher OS), tinkered with IPv6 and VLANs in jails, added several services to Docker/Rancher OS with Portainer and Rancher Server, have several SMB Shares for Macs and iOS Devices, NFS Share for Docker … so I have a little experience with FreeNAS and other stuff. Not enough for mastering it blindly without any guidance from the Forums/Internet/User Guide but anyways.

Maybe I am getting the whole versioning thing wrong, maybe my expectations are too high, but during this short time of a little more than 2.5 years I
  • had to move from warden to iocage/vnet, which permanently broke IPv6 for me (to this day)
  • couldn't get decent disk performance in a Windows VM since using virtio crashes the whole VM up to 11.3 - which I cannot use because it breaks my RancherVM.
  • felt like everything is made a little bit harder to use and setup than Linux, because FreeBSD (good UI to new features is very important, as important as new features themselves). Try stuff on a RasPi --> 5 Minutes, done, stable service. Try stuff in FreeNAS jail --> 10 - 15 Minutes, done, some things not fully working, other things need a quick fix, some workarounds in place, stable service.
  • am scared of every upgrade which might add new features and in turn break old ones. I follow the rules, use the GUI for everything, yet still things break, because (strongly recommended) upgrades released after almost a year do things another way than before.