My Journey into the world of FreeNas (includes pictures of build)

Sprint

Explorer
Hi all

So I've been lurking for a while now, doing lots of reading up, and some experimenting, as I was fairly new to FreeNas when I started.

For the last 3 or 4 years, my storage has been entirely handled by my Synology DS1815+, and an offsite DS411+ii backup. Superb boxes, yes a little under powered but did the job flawlessly. As my storage needs have grown though, I have for the last year at least started thinking about how I was going to grow my storage to match (I am doing more and more video editing these days)... It looked like I was going to have to just stump up for a mid 4 figure Synology NAS to get the number of bays i wanted as well as the ability to go 10Gb and rack mount..... but....

I had a stroke of luck. I'm a systems administrator by day (have been for 3 years now, but came from a 9 year stint in Cisco networking) so now look after a small VM environment. Our old platform finally got retired and replaced, and while in the data centre helping to de-rack it all for disposal, I mentioned that it was a shame to throw so much kit away as it still had life in it..... Well, they then said I could take whatever i wanted (with the exception of storage devices, these HAD to be destroyed). Naturally.. I grabbed my screw driver and got to work!

Heres what I came away with....
4x Xeon E5-2630V4's (10c/20t)
2x Xeon E5 2478 (8c/16t)
4x Xeon X5675 (4c/8t)
16x 32Gb 2400Mhz ECC DDR4 dimms
and 72x 16Gb 1333Mhz ECC DDR3 dimms.