Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Multiple problems that need addressing

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Hi all,

First things first here are my PC settings.

Intel i5 CPU 760 2.8GHz
Memory 8gb
4 x 3TB drives

Problem #1. I can't see my Freenas over my network
Problem #2. It seems that all my data has been erased.

I'm a real noob when it comes to Freenas.
I had a setup working for a year or two, but then something happened I wasn't able to access my data via the network.
I'm currently upgraded to 11.2-U8.

I went through a few tutorials last night to set things up, but I still can't see my Freenas over the network.

Can someone give me a hand?
 

sretalla

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,916
Can you ssh to the server? in terminal on a Mac or from Powershell in Windows, ssh root@freenas.IP.address where you replace freenas.IP.address with the actual IP of the server.

What's displayed on the screen of the server?

I doubt that your data has been erased. If you can't connect to the server, what makes you think that?
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Thanks for the reply!

I opened powershell and typed:

ssh root@192.168.1.73 and got "ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.73 port 22: connection refused"

What's displayed on the screen of the server? Sorry - can you be a little more specific? I'll take a screenshot

I doubt that your data has been erased. If you can't connect to the server, what makes you think that? When I look at the amount of storage available, it reads as if there is no data on any of the hard drives.
 

sretalla

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,916
So if I understand you, the web GUI is available?

Can you go to services and enable SSH (check the setting to allow root login with password if you don't have ssh keys) then try the ssh again.
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Yes - the web GUI is available.

Done!

SSH was turned off.
I checked the setting to allow root login with password.

I refreshed my Network computers and I still don't see the Freenas there.
 

sretalla

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,916
OK, now I see what you're asking...

You want FreeNAS to appear in the Windows "Network Neighborhood".

What SMB sharing have you done? have you checked the box on the SMB service for "Zeroconf share discovery"? and "Local Master" ?

On the share, have you selected "Browsable to network clients"?
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Yes!
I didn't know there was another way to access my Freenas files very the network?
Is there a better way?

What SMB sharing have you done? have you checked the box on the SMB service for "Zeroconf share discovery"? and "Local Master" ?
Yes, both of those are checked.

On the share, have you selected "Browsable to network clients"?


I'm not sure where this is located?
 

Yorick

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
446
I actually happen to think you're better off ditching all that SMB1 discovery stuff and going for WSD - even if it means having a script to make it happen.

 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
I actually happen to think you're better off ditching all that SMB1 discovery stuff and going for WSD - even if it means having a script to make it happen.

Thanks for the response Yorick - I'm not familiar with that method. Can you point me in the right direction?
 

sretalla

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,916
I think it's 11.3 where the Zeroconf discovery option replaces all of the stuff that @Yorick mentioned. Maybe you should consider the upgrade.

Have you restarted the SMB service and checked on the Windows PC?
 

Yorick

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
446
@sretalla Zeroconf is Bonjour, which is not installed on Windows by default. I haven't tested File Explorer with Bonjour instead of WSD, though.

@45Jung In a nutshell: 1) Create wsdd.py in /usr/local/bin and make it executable, see link for how to do that. 2) Add "enable web service discovery=yes" to the aux parameters of SMB and restart the service 3) Configure Windows as described in that link

At that point FreeNAS should show up in Network Neighborhood, and be browsable.
 

sretalla

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,916
Zeroconf is Bonjour
Not sure it's only that... in any case, maybe just install iTunes on the Windows PC and get it that way.
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Thanks for the responses guys!

I upgraded to 11.3 and I can see it on my network!

I've got a homes folder and a root folder.

But when I click on either folder I get a:

"Windows cannot access \\FREENAS\root"

Any ideas?
 

tfran1990

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 18, 2017
Messages
233
Its good that you can now see the folder.
what might help you is to map the network and connect to it forcing windows to hold the creds, that way when you click on the file share from file explorer it uses what is cached.

On a side note, if you enter them wrong be aware windows likes to "hold" on to what was last entered. logging out can clear them.
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
Thanks for the reply!

by "map the network" do you mean enter the IP into windows explorer?
I've done that and then used the root user and password to try and login, but with the same results.

If not, would you mind explaining a little further?
 

45Jung

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
11
New update!

I created a new windows share and I can now see and access folders.
But as I feared, I no longer have any of my old data.
Now that I can view and access folder over the network, is there any way to recover my lost data?
 
Top