Mixing disks of different sizes in a VDEV is not allowed.

ztx

Dabbler
I'm the first time to install a freenas server, I have 4TB*3 and 8TB*3 disks, I want to pool using all 6 disks in raidz2, and update 4TB disks to 8TB later, but when creating pools in the GUI, It says "Mixing disks of different sizes in a VDEV is not allowed. " and the create button is grayed out.
pool.png

Is there a way to create a pool using all 6 disks in 1 vdev?

Tigersharke

BOfH in User's clothing
Administrator
I am not an expert with FreeNAS so my question is pointed toward those who are more familiar:

Is there any difference whether this user attaches the smaller drives first?

I know that outside of FreeNAS, ZFS would permit such a setup as desired, so I am curious how or why this is disabled in FreeNAS. My guess is that it might see the large disk first and instead of defaulting them to match the smaller ones, it simply "fails" so doing the reverse seems more likely to succeed. I have not tried anything like this on my own FreeBSD box but I do have raidz2 with a few more drives. :)

ztx

Dabbler
Thanks for reply.
It's my fault. When making boot disk, I selected the 11.3 beta, reinstall with 11.2-U7 created the pool successfully.

Tigersharke

BOfH in User's clothing
Administrator
Thanks for reply.
It's my fault. When making boot disk, I selected the 11.3 beta, reinstall with 11.2-U7 created the pool successfully.
Glad to hear of your success. There must be some reason why it is changed in 11.3 beta, perhaps that configuration needs further testing with regard to newer ZFS capabilities. *shrugs*

ztx

Dabbler
I copy a 35gb iso file to freenas, got 27mb/s, it's very slow. before I puchased the 8tb disks, I create a 3*4tb raidz and got more than 100mb/s.

Is this speed normal?

ztx

Dabbler
Reboot system, get a 100MB copy speed.:)

danb35

Hall of Famer
There must be some reason why it is changed in 11.3 beta