SOLVED Linux, Windows and Mac Sharing

KATAMAPAH

Cadet
Hi everyone!

I've been using Freenas for about three months now. Unfortunately, last week my hdd (connected through a USB port) where the system was installed died. I took a DB config backup one week earlier the failure happened.

It was a simple home config: two shared folders (/mnt/storage and /mnt/backup) and a plex server for my Samsung smart tv. The shares were accessible through all three OS (Linux, Windows and MacOS) with read/write permissions on all of the machines.

I have the original ISO image for Freenas dated 5th of December. I installed it without and problems. Uploaded the DB config, the machine got rebooted twice and I found my Freenas up and running. However, the shared folders permissions were messed up: I had read-only access for the two folders from my Linux machine (Linux Mint, my daily driver) and from the other two machines (my wife's Windows 10 and MacOS Mojave). No write permissions on any of the machines. Apparently, no sharing config was backed up or copied properly. While trying to recall the proper config, I realized that I didn't bookmarked the websites where I took the working configs from (dumbass). I thought that if I upgrade to the latest build of Freenas, it might resolve the issue, but it didn't.

So, I need to configure the sharing again. What I remember from the previous config is that I didn't create any specific users/group on Freenas. If I'm not mistaken, I used either root/wheel or nobody/nobody. I did some config on the Windows 10 Pro machine (NFS feature installation and some user config). I don't remember configuring SMB or AFS, so I assume all config was done on NFS. Automount (/etc/fstab) is still on my Mint machine.

Let me know if you have any additional questions.

Your help here is much appreciated.