Jail vs Docker? (Running Plexpass, Plexy, Transmission etc...)

NotMyName

Cadet
Hi there

Don't want to look like a complete beginner but I wanted to get an opinion on the best way of managing/running my applications.

It's all started with me just getting my final bits of the hardware for new NAS system (HP Z400, Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU L5640 @ 2.27GHz, 24Gb ECC, 3 X 4GB HDD (IronWolf, WD Red and HGST), FreeNAS-11.1-RELEASE). This is going to be a small home storage solution plus media centre.

One of the first steps I wanted to do was to get my Plex setup so I could test it before starting the migration process and then I've realised there is no plugin for Plex Pass.

I came across this doc (https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...phones-jackett-ombi-transmission-organizr.58/) which provides me with ways of setting up using Shell.

While at the same time I came across this post (https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...s-11-1-rancheros-docker-rancherui-plex.59963/) as I wanted to get Crashplan for business to setup.

So now I'm at the crossroads: Jails or Docker?

I like the second idea of Using RancherOS to manage your Docker as it creates a centralised area (updating and monitoring + any other things) however I'vecomee across one or more posts where people mentioning that Plex has issues/slow to run in the Docker

Could I get a comprehensive look at this from someone who've used both of them and reach some sort of solution?

Thanks in advance.

You will see a lot of people prefer different things. For performance with a minimal amount of loss Jails are king. Docker has to be set up in a VM which requires a dedicated amount of CPU and RAM to be given to a VM. That mean that if you over-provision the VM you can hurt performance of the rest of the system. And a jail is simple to update, like so simple it can be done with a script if you want. Otherwise it's a log in to the jail, pkg update && pkg upgrade and done.