Issue installing Plex; Message: pkg.FreeBSD.org could not be reached via DNS

curly

Cadet
I have the same issue. I newly install a new system with FN 11.3-u2.1 . Manually ping pkg.FreeBSD.org in NS shell is fine, manually create a new jail is also fine, but when I try to install plugin (any of them) , I got the same result. Double check ethernet IP and DNS setting and looks OK.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Make sure you have your dns sever set in your jail config.

curly

Cadet
In V11.3-U2.1 , it only have Global network DNS setting. In Plugin--> install-->Jail Properties, I cannot find the DNS setting. Any idea?
FN01.png

FN02.png

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty

Yorick

Wizard
It doesn't look like you even gave your jail an IP

He's using NAT, which gives me the heebie-jeebies, seriously. Trust me, I'm a network professional: No NAT is good NAT. NAT when you HAVE TO, and only then.

I'd test this two ways:
- DHCP, which will enable BPF
- Static IP, which means NAT unchecked, BPF unchecked, VNET checked. Set IP, mask, next-hop; keep interface blank.

curly

Cadet
Thanks Yorick, the second suggestion works for me. You are correct that the default NAT does not work at all. For DHCP, I still got DNS error but anyway, problem solved.

Here is the workable setting screen capture:
03.png

Yorick

Wizard
I think Plex might need some additional settings if you attempt to run it without vnet. Something is funky with your NIC or network, there shouldn’t be issues with either dhcp or vnet.

kherr

Explorer
+ 100

Exact same error, I was pulling my hair out!! Unchecked the VNET / BPF ..... and loaded right up !!

Thanks

nikkon

Contributor
I have the same problem on TrueNas 12
I tried all possibilities and none work. i still get the same message.
coruscant had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: pkg.FreeBSD.org could not be reached via DNS, check coruscant's network configuration Partial plugin destroyed

Houmin

Cadet
Hi,