importing hdd with data to new freeNAS 11.2 U5

fannlow

Dabbler
Hi,
i am posting to get some help, as i can't seems to get a workaround for my issue for almost a week, and have been looking online, forums, youtube, etc for solutions.
Perhaps I might have missed some info out there, but I will list my issues here.

I was using my freeNAS from two years ago, until last month, the freeNAS OS was unable to boot, due to a harddisk failure. I have 5 harddisks (all 1TB) for my data, shared for Windows.

So what I did was buy two new USB drives and mirror them for the new freeNAS 11.2 U5 OS. I booted them with no problem (the 5 harddisks were not plugged in), as I wanted to test the new OS stability. So once, the new freeNAS OS is up, I shutdown plug in my old 5 harddisks, reboot the new freeNAS OS, It reads the 5 harddisks, but where should i go to next? I can't seems to do anything about it...

I am pretty new to this, as the previous freeNAS wasn't setup by me, and I have no idea, what config they were using.

If you need info from me, kindly let me know, so I can screenshot and upload it for help.

thanks

Attachments

• freeNAS-disks.jpg
    freeNAS-disks.jpg
    189.7 KB · Views: 526

fannlow

Dabbler
seems like i am now about to import the previous freeNAS data (even though I might have a corrupted harddisk plugged in).
It takes about slightly more than a TB. Is there a way, I can copy all these data out to my external harddisk on my windows?
or possible to copy all the configurations off these dataset or all of it?

then I will take out these 5 harddrives and plugin 2x new 2TB WD Red harddrives and create a new pool and then copy all these data and configurations back the new 2TB WD Red Harddisks. I am using mirror in this case.

By the way, is it possible to add more 2TB drives later-on and change the config to raid-z?

fannlow

Dabbler
hmmm, now i keep getting this CAM status on ada4 harddisk, the one with disks error.