How to view Ethernet speed - not showing up in ifconfig

wafliron

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
13
I have an instance of FreeNAS 11.2 running inside a VM on an ESXi 6.7 host. The VM has 3 x VMXNET3 vNICs.

I'm trying to determine what link speed the vNICs are running at (trying to track down a network performance issue, and want to rule out incorrect link speed).

All documentation I can find suggests the link speed should be displayed at the end of the "media:" line when I execute ifconfig. But, when I do this, all I see for the vNICS is:

media: Ethernet autoselect

Am I missing something? Or is link speed not available / not applicable with VMXNET3 vNICs on FreeNAS?

Thanks.
 

wafliron

Dabbler
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
13
Output as follows:

Code:
vmx0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:24
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:24
        inet 192.168.3.21 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.3.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
vmx1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:2e
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:2e
        inet 192.168.4.10 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.4.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
vmx2: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:1a
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:1a
        inet 192.168.2.31 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        groups: lo


Thanks.
 

majorgear

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
36
Output as follows:

Code:
vmx0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:24
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:24
        inet 192.168.3.21 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.3.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
vmx1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:2e
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:2e
        inet 192.168.4.10 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.4.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
vmx2: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:0c:29:4a:e5:1a
        hwaddr 00:0c:29:4a:e5:1a
        inet 192.168.2.31 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        groups: lo


Thanks.
I have the same issue. did you every figure it out? I have a 1G and a 10G link on my serves, and I'm trying to figure out which is which! I don't even have "media" in the output ( TN Scale v23.10.1 )


ifconfig
eno2: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 2c:f0:5d:92:c6:9a txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 8105 bytes 541809 (529.1 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 14 bytes 1172 (1.1 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 16 memory 0xa2400000-a2420000

enp1s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.1.51 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255
inet6 fe80::a236:9eff:fe25:8ac7 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether a0:36:9e:25:8a:c7 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1367365293 bytes 2034144574822 (1.8 TiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 29185 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 375259494 bytes 172848432254 (160.9 GiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
7,776
@wafliron, vmxnet NICs don't have a link speed. They are connected to a virtual switch and will go as fast as VMware ESXi, FreeBSD, and your hardware can manage. Look at the ESXi UI to determine the link speed of your physical NICs.

@majorgear, your problem is different and Linux related. Their ifconfig is a deprecated piece of garbage. IIRC the command you are looking for is ethtool.
 

majorgear

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
36
@wafliron, vmxnet NICs don't have a link speed. They are connected to a virtual switch and will go as fast as VMware ESXi, FreeBSD, and your hardware can manage. Look at the ESXi UI to determine the link speed of your physical NICs.

@majorgear, your problem is different and Linux related. Their ifconfig is a deprecated piece of garbage. IIRC the command you are looking for is ethtool.
I tried ethtool -m eno2 | grep Speed first since I use that all the time at work. However, "command not found"
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
7,776
Are you logged in as root? Try /sbin/ethtool or /usr/sbin/ethtool ...
 

majorgear

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
36
It was in /sbin/ethtool . It wasn't supported for the motherboard NIC, but the slotted NIC output quite a bit. I'm used to looking for "Speed" on the servers at work but my 10GBe card didn't output that metric.

/sbin/ethtool -m enp1s0
Identifier : 0x03 (SFP)
Extended identifier : 0x04 (GBIC/SFP defined by 2-wire interface ID)
Connector : 0x23 (No separable connector)
Transceiver codes : 0x01 0x00 0x00 0x04 0x41 0x84 0x80 0xd5 0x00
Transceiver type : Infiniband: 1X Copper Passive
Transceiver type : Ethernet: 1000BASE-CX
Transceiver type : FC: short distance (S)
Transceiver type : FC: Electrical inter-enclosure (EL)
Transceiver type : FC: Electrical intra-enclosure (EL)
Transceiver type : Passive Cable
Transceiver type : FC: Twin Axial Pair (TW)
Transceiver type : FC: 1200 MBytes/sec
Transceiver type : FC: 800 MBytes/sec
Transceiver type : FC: 400 MBytes/sec
Transceiver type : FC: 200 MBytes/sec
Transceiver type : FC: 100 MBytes/sec
Encoding : 0x00 (unspecified)
BR, Nominal : 10300MBd
Rate identifier : 0x00 (unspecified)
Length (SMF,km) : 0km
Length (SMF) : 0m
Length (50um) : 0m
Length (62.5um) : 0m
Length (Copper) : 3m
Length (OM3) : 0m
Passive Cu cmplnce. : 0x01 (SFF-8431 appendix E) [SFF-8472 rev10.4 only]
Vendor name : Ubiquiti Inc.
Vendor OUI : 24:5a:4c
Vendor PN : DAC-SFP10-3M
Vendor rev : A1
Option values : 0x00 0x00
BR margin, max : 0%
BR margin, min : 0%
Vendor SN : BA21082500111
Date code : 210821
Still, I can infer the speed from the output.
 
Top