How to use FreeNas as a cloud storage?

Dolev Levy

Cadet
Hey! first of all this is my first time here (and with FreeNas itself) so sorry in advance if this post is not supposed to be here.
I just built my first FreeNas system with these specs
CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 2300G
RAM: 1X8 GB HyperX kit (3200mhz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte B450M DS3H
PSU: Corsair CX550M (550W)
Case: Sharkoon VS7 Window

one of my main purposes of building a nas was that i will use it as a cloud storage (becuase if i will compare price-per-time it will be much cheaper to build a nas then to buy some more stroage on google drive \ icloud)

after installing freenas and messing with it with some test drives i decided to test some plugins. unfortunately, i couldn't find any cloud or equivalent plugins to use freenas as a cloud storage. i googled a bit and could only find pluings which are for the earlier versions of freenas (like owncloud) and i am running freenas 11.2-U5
and i cannot find any good plugins to use.
does anyone know a good plugin \ tutorial for freenas 11.2 U5 that can get my freenas system as a cloud storage so i can access it from anywhere?

Thanks in advance!

garm

Wizard
Hi and welcome to the forum

I’m sorry to say you got the wrong hardware for FreeNAS. It will function to some extent but will probably let you down in reliability..
There is plenty of content on the forum about hardware selection.

There are several ways of making FreeNAS into a “cloud”. There is a built in S3 like interface and installing Nextcloud in a jail is relatively straightforward. The later even has a community built script to make the process more or less hands off. What you should use is up to your intended use case.

But you need RAM to run the database and web server and you have the minimum required to run FreeNAS. You need to get an additional stick of RAM to host anything on your machine.