How to create FTP account for a user ! urgent !

Status
Not open for further replies.

wonders

Dabbler
Hello

Everyone this is my first time Im using FreeNAS, I really liked it , but the thing si that, I ahve created shares and users, they are working perfectly in windows through CIFS, I can login using any username and password and see its associated share, but I wanted to use FTP to connect to each users share, but I cant find any option to let me assign a share to a FTP account ?
how can I assign a user or share to the FTP account , and let everyuser connect using FTP as well as CIFS

Thanks

wonders

Dabbler
This is what I get in teh consol when I click OK on teh FTP setting page

Jun 21 17:13:50 absbk freenas[1595]: Executing: /usr/sbin/service ix-proftpd quietstart
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: Creating /usr/local/etc/proftpd.conf
Jun 21 17:13:50 absbk freenas[1595]: Executing: /usr/sbin/service proftpd restart
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: proftpd not running?
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: Starting proftpd.
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: - warning: unable to determine IP address of 'absbk.local'
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: - error: no valid servers configured
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: - Fatal: error processing configuration file '/usr/local/etc/proftpd.conf'
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk root: /usr/local/etc/rc.d/proftpd: WARNING: failed to start proftpd
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: /usr/local/etc/rc.d/proftpd: WARNING: failed to start proftpd

Al562

Dabbler
Hi Wonders,

The forum isn't dead, you keep answering your own topic so no one bothers to read it because it looks like it's been answered already. If you have additional information, you should edit your original post, not create a reply.

Code:
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: - warning: unable to determine IP address of 'absbk.local'
Jun 22 00:13:50 absbk freenas: - error: no valid servers configured