SOLVED Help Needed - NFS Permissions & Sharing

MEC-777

Dabbler
Hi there, I'm new to FreeNAS and networking in-general, and I need some help.

I have a new NAS machine I recently setup. Full specs can be found here. Created a pool with an NFS directory and now I'm trying to figure out how to allow that directory to automatically mount on my devices (PCs connected to the local home network) on boot-up, without having to mount it manually in terminal every time.

I created an entry in the /etc/fstab config file for the directory and on start-up the directory does show up now under the file manager, but I get a message upon trying to access it saying it cannot mount as it requires root access to do so. I have tried changing the user/group settings and permissions, but I still get the same message. I've spent several hours reading and watching videos, trying to understand what I need to do or change in these settings, to make the directory accessible without requiring root, but I just don't quite understand.

If anyone can help or has any suggestions, I'm all ears. All devices I want to give access to are running Linux.

Thanks in advance.

MEC-777

Dabbler

Glorious1

Guru
I don't have a linux pc, but I do have NFS shares on FreeNAS that I access from my macs. Maybe it works similarly on linux. You just mount the network drive/share manually, then open your user/login items settings, and drag the disk icon in to that pane. Then it opens when you log in.

John Doe

Guru
have you tried with systemd?
/etc/fstab

Code:
# <file system>           <dir>             <type>   <options>                  <dump> <pass>
192.168.1.10:/Multimedia  /media/Qnap-Media  nfs     x-systemd.automount,noauto    0      0

nfs v3 should not require any permission. it is tcp/ip based access control, if i am not wrong.
So I assume permission issue is on client.

MEC-777

Dabbler
have you tried with systemd?
/etc/fstab