Hardware suggestions for build

eeerl

Cadet
Hello,

Long time lurker and first time poster. I've been using freenas for about 7 years now having built a small box for file sharing (smb, iscsi) and plex. The specs on this box are:

mobo: Intel® Desktop Board DH67CF
cpu: i3-2100
ram: 8GB
disks: 4x2GB in raidz1

I'm planning on re-purposing this system into a NVR system for some security cameras that I have. This will be an opportunity to build a new freenas box.

Some requirements.
* File sharing (max 2-3 simultaneous users). Smb for general stuff, iscsi for my photos.
* Storage for NVR - create iscsi drive which the NVR will use. read/writes ~30 Mb/sec
* Media server - plex, misc jails.
* I plan on getting some new disks (probably 8x8TB) but will also re-use the existing disks (no errors atm).

Would like to have:
* Cost below 2k without disks.
* 10G networking
* Rackmount case with hot swap drives
* IPMI
* low power

I'm currently toying around with the current build ideas. Any thoughts or other suggestions would be appreciated.
* xeon-d 2123 + HBA. - https://www.supermicro.com/en/products/motherboard/X11SDV-4C-TP8F
* atom c3958 - https://www.gigabyte.com/ca/Server-Motherboard/MA10-ST0-rev-11#ov
* xeon e2200 (probably 2226G) - not sure which board.
* 32 GB ECC ram - or should I go with 64?
* SLOG/L2ARC - worthwhile?
* Are the cases with a sas backplane and hot swap drives (supermicro) worth the large $$ difference over a barebones case and regular drive cages?

Inxsible

Guru
If you are in the US, then you should go the used route and you could get a pretty good system with not much coin.

LeDiable

Dabbler