SOLVED FreeNAS/TrueNAS locking up a couple times a day

darthmongo

Cadet
I'm relatively new to Linux, but I've been running FreeNAS for a few years now, mainly as a Plex server. Recently, I've started running into a problem where my system will lockup/freeze at least once per day with no response from the keyboard and no response to pings. Here's my hardware setup:

ASUS motherboard
Ryzen 7 1700 processor
32GB RAM (non-ECC)
GLOTRENDS PCIe 2.0 X4 to SATA III 8 Ports Adapter Card (documentation says it is Linux compatible and has been working fine up until recently)
Six 4TB Seagate Ironwolf drives in a RAID ZPOOL-2 config
OS installed to a Samsung EVO M.2 SSD

I was running 11.3-U4.1. I decided to try reinstalling the OS and reconfiguring from scratch in case the backup brought something "bad" from the old system, but I was still getting lockups. I tried reinstalling again with the 12.0 beta (not an upgrade - fresh install), but I came home last night to find it frozen again, rebooted, and it's locked up again this morning. I don't have any plugins installed yet, not even Plex.

I looked at the output of the /var/log/messages file from the last two crashes, and the last line both times before the restart says "<system name> Security policy loaded: MAC/ntpd (mac_ntpd)". I'm attaching screenshots.

I've done some research and found some articles (such as the one I'm noting below) about some issues with Ryzen processors. Is this still an issue? Looking for any ideas here. Thanks in advance!

--darthmongo

Attachments

• Freenas error 1.JPG
    Freenas error 1.JPG
    166.7 KB · Views: 305
  • Freenas error 2.JPG
    Freenas error 2.JPG
    178.8 KB · Views: 353

pschatz100

Guru
Welcome to the forum.

In the first case, there is something you need to understand... FreeNAS is built on FreeBSD. FreeBSD is not Linux. Just because a device runs on Linux does not mean that it will run well on FreeBSD. Now that the disclaimer is out of the way...