FreeNAS Installer fails

caseyscherm

Cadet
I've done a search and haven't seen anyone else who seems to be having the same issue. I'm brand new to FreeNAS and this was my first download. I started at the main site, went to Home and downloaded the 11.3-U2.1 ISO, which I burned to a new DVD using Imgburn, which while a bit older, I have always found to operate flawlessly. I put a blank 16GB flash drive into my (Windows 7 Pro) PC, which I'm eventually going to use as my FreeNAS server. Inserted the DVD and booted from the DVD. It finds /BOOT/LOADER - at this point it sees the root directory - and starts the BTX loader (version 1.02). Starts FreeBSD/x86 bootstrap loader (Rev 1.1).

Info from the loader:

Tu Apr 21 20:42:38 UTC 2020 root@tnbuild01.tn.ixsystems.com

At this point it throws the message:

cd0: Read 1 sector(s) from 16434494 to 0xffffe000 (0x8000): 0x32

It repeats this message 8 times and then says, "can't load 'kernel'.

I issue an 'ls' command to see what the loader is seeing and it throws the same "cd0: Read ..." message 2 times, followed by, "open '/' failed: no such file or directory"

I've looked at the DVD and the kernel is - or appears to be - in /BOOT/KERNEL/KERNEL. I tried to "load" that file and "boot" that file and in both cases I get the same "cd0: Read ..." message.

As I said, I'm new to FreeNAS. Has anyone else seen this? Am I doing something terribly stupid here?

Feel free to point me in the right direction and I'll do my own homework.

Thx very much in advance.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Did you run a verify after the ImgBurn burn? You may need to reburn the DVD, at a slower speed.

caseyscherm

Cadet