Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Freenas Home Build

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
Ok so while I have a system at work and will be of a vendor type (Lenovo) - and it has 1tb drives, I will move on to my home testing area...

I am so much of a non "storage" guy... so please bare with me.

In my sig is an optiplex that was given to me but doesnt have the expandability so im going to post here on my thoughts, well im going to give it a shot, build.

so lets go over parts list:
Case - Antec 900 (old gaming q6600 just pulled mobo)
Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI - ( bud upgraded so im not gonna bite a free handout) https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-Z170XP-SLI-rev-10#ov
CPU - intel i5-6600k ( free with mobo )
Heat Sink - Cooler Master
Memory - 4 x 8gb 1Rx8 PC4-2133P-UA1-10 ( free with mobo )

Drives: (same buddy updated his nas and more freebies)
Samsung 128gb SSD 6gb/s - Boot O/S
4x wd 2tb black drives WD2003FZEX
1x Seagate 2tb ST2000DM001


so in essence I have provided the Case and Heat Sink.. I CAN LIVE WITH THAT!!!! hah.. my friend and I trade hw all the time as im giving him 2x intel nuc's tomorrow for his next project

so lets get started

My mobo has 6 ports and I have 6 drives... if I do M2 for O/S then I could buy another 2tb wd black...

my intent is SSD for O/S
OR pull M2 from intel nuc (128gb)?

Spinning drives...
Will adding the Seagate 2tb hinder performance of the WD Blacks?

I want to run an iSCSI share and SMB share so figuring...
3x WD Blacks - iSCSI
2x (or 3 if I buy one) WD Blacks and Seagate - SMB

from documentation
  1. 1 x M.2 Socket 3 connector (Socket 3, M key, type 2242/2260/2280 SATA & PCIe x4/x2/x1 SSD support)
  2. 3 x SATA Express connectors
  3. 6 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors
  4. Support for RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 10
    * Refer to "1-8 Internal Connectors," for the supported configurations with the M.2, SATA Express, and SATA connectors.
Since I am seeing them broken into 2 blocks on the mobo.. the 6 I will use for all of these drives

What can i use the 3x SATA Express for? 2 standard data cables and a smaller one... never saw that one before... maybe put 2x SSD in?

Thanks for the input and ill start with that before moving on!
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
Case - Antec 900 (old gaming q6600 just pulled mobo)
Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI - ( bud upgraded so im not gonna bite a free handout) https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-Z170XP-SLI-rev-10#ov
CPU - intel i5-6600k ( free with mobo )
Heat Sink - Cooler Master
Memory - 4 x 8gb 1Rx8 PC4-2133P-UA1-10 ( free with mobo )
These are less than ideal, but it is hard to argue with Free. However, you might want to see how much you could sell them for, because you can buy very good components that are fully compatible with FreeNAS a really reasonable amount of money if you have the right guidance.

I took a look at the parts you listed, here are the links:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/GIGABYTE-GA-Z170XP-SLI-ATX-Intel-Motherboard/153272697665
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Core-i5-6600K-3-50-GHz-Quad-Core-BX80662I56600K-Processor/233094472870
https://www.ebay.com/itm/M378A1K43BB1-CPB-SAMSUNG-8GB-1X8GB-1RX8-PC4-2133P-DDR4-MEMORY/202242292935

You have four memory modules that should be worth $70 each, a system board that should be worth $65, and a processor that should be worth $175. That should bring you around $520, if you sell them for the going rate on eBay. You can turn that cash around and buy these parts and have a very good system:

Some of these items are slightly older, discontinued components, but still very powerful and perfectly capable for FreeNAS.

I use similar components in both my 48 bay primary NAS and in my 24 bay backup NAS that runs ESXi with FreeNAS in a VM.

System Board: Supermicro X9SRL-F Motherboard Socket LGA2011 System Board w/ I/O Shield - - US $206.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/401678513337

Note: I bought two of these for under $150 each earlier this year. The price is inflated now because they are discontinued and supplies are running low. Supply and demand. They are great boards and still in demand. I would suggest making an offer to see if the seller will come down on the price.

Memory: SAMSUNG 16GB Samsung PC3L-12800R DDR3L 1600 Registered ECC Server Memory - - US $51.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/183022002934

That is a good price on the memory and you might want to go ahead and get two, but the system board can take eight of these.

If you really want a lot of RAM, you can go with 32GB memory modules, but they are a good bit more money. Let me know.

For the CPU cooler, I use this model on two of my systems.
It is only slightly louder than the Noctua cooler I have on my wife's desktop PC, but only slightly.

CPU Fan: Dynatron R27 Side Fan CPU Cooler 3U for Intel Socket LGA2011 (Narrow ILM) - - US $42.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/401284811045

You have a lot of options for CPUs to go in this system board, but I bought one of these back in Feb 2018 myself:

PassMark score of 10385... If you are wondering... This is the model I use for the NAS I run Plex on.

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 SR1AM 2.6GHz 15MB 7.2GT/s Hex Core Server CPU Processor - - US $54.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/113085698803

If you want something a bit more powerful, you can easily upgrade to an eight or ten core processor and higher clock speeds, but the price goes up.

For example, with a PassMark score of 15847:

CPU: INTEL XEON E5-2680V2 10 CORE 2.80 GHz 25M 8 GT/s 115W PROCESSOR (SR1A6) - - Price: US $188.00
https://www.ebay.com/itm/262936243927

For the drive controller, I would suggest a SAS controller, just to get all the drives on a single controller. It works better that way. One SAS controller like this can run up to 256 drives by use of expander controllers. We can talk more about that when you need more drives but this will get you to eight drives to start.

Drive Controller: SAS PCI-E 3.0 HBA LSI 9207-8i P20 IT Mode for ZFS FreeNAS - - US $44.88
https://www.ebay.com/itm/192639052923

Data Drive Cables: Mini SAS to 4-SATA SFF-8087 Multi-Lane Forward Breakout Internal Cable - - US $12.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/371681252206

I would suggest one of these SSDs for the boot drive, two if you want redundancy, which would be good.

Plug these into the SATA controller on the system board and the BIOS can be configured to boot from either of them. Meaning that if one fails, the system will automatically boot from the other drive. I tested that on my system by unplugging a drive and rebooting.

These are used drives, but as a boot drive in FreeNAS, it should last as long as the server, if not longer:

Boot drive: Intel 320 SERIES SSD 40GB SATA 2 2.5 Hard Drive SSDSA2CT040G3 TESTED - - US $15
https://www.ebay.com/itm/292919340779

If you need it, this is a great product.

Thermal Compound: Noctua NT-H1 Thermal Paste Grease Conductive Compound for CPU/GPU - US $7.95

https://www.ebay.com/itm/302624513215
 
Last edited:

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
then I could buy another 2tb wd black...
The WD Black drive model line is not ideal for use in a NAS.
my intent is SSD for O/S
OR pull M2 from intel nuc (128gb)?
There is no advantage of an M.2 drive except that it does not use a SATA port. Speed of the OS drive is not relevant in FreeNAS. Reliability is what matters.
Spinning drives...
Will adding the Seagate 2tb hinder performance of the WD Blacks?
All the WD Black drives should be replaced with Red or 'NAS' drives, but it is hard to argue with Free. If you are using RAIDz2, with a single six drive vdev, the performance is going to be about equal to the slowest drive in the group.
I want to run an iSCSI share and SMB share so figuring...
3x WD Blacks - iSCSI
2x (or 3 if I buy one) WD Blacks and Seagate - SMB
Considering this, you would be better off to put the six drives in the same pool together as three mirror vdevs (for IOPS) and then divide the storage logically
Support for RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 10
Don't use this at all. Not compatible with FreeNAS.
 
Last edited:

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
Im out grocery shopping but appreciate the response. Will readin more.

I thought cpu wasnt a big deal but your saying e5-2680 v2 .. thats a nice chip esp since can do dual...
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
Im out grocery shopping but appreciate the response. Will readin more.

I thought cpu wasnt a big deal but your saying e5-2680 v2 .. thats a nice chip esp since can do dual...
You could go with a lower cost chip in the Xeon E5 lineup. The reason for it is to allow use of Registered ECC memory because Registered memory is very inexpensive.
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
You could go with a lower cost chip in the Xeon E5 lineup. The reason for it is to allow use of Registered ECC memory because Registered memory is very inexpensive.
totally understood. I have to look through my stuff.. I've got parts laying around as im starting to try and fix else throw out stuff.
I know I have 10x8gb ecc DIMMS … ddr3 I believe... and an e5 2xxx cpu. not doing anything. hmmm

(just got home)
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
an e5 2xxx cpu. not doing anything
Not that it isn't doing anything, but the main reason for it is to use registered memory. If you are not buying memory, the whole question is different.
1547517825579.png


Typical utilization during playback of a movie with Plex.

1547517883448.png
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
gotcha… well I do have a Xeon E5-2620 v2 sitting here.. I've been pulling my hair out on a dead Lenovo c30 I got from ebay for $20...
turns out.. dual cpu capable but only 1 installed. weird thing.. memory slots 1-2 then 3-4 for cpu 1... if you put memory in slot 3 and 4 system works.. but in 1 and 2 no go.. weird.. so was gonna buy a mobo but there is no drive space in this thing...

well I guess ill round up all my hw and see what I can sell off...

biggie I need to figure out first is what case to use. I don't want a super huge case like a server case as I don't have a server rack and choose quiet running machines.
was looking at this..
https://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-Rackmount-Computer-Pre-Installed-RSV-L4500/dp/B0091IZ1ZG


and my esxi box is nice and beefy...
but uses local ssd drives non raid - nothing worth saving. thus why trying to figure out freenas layout to then get vms in there through 10gb network

esxi.png
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
Also if im looking at building and selling off what I have, how about future proofing and going ddr4 memory and newer cpu?
dual cpu worth it or definitely overkill?
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
dual cpu worth it or definitely overkill?
Dual Socket can actually be slower because of the way FreeNAS (ZFS) uses system RAM as cache for storage pool read and write.
Also if im looking at building and selling off what I have, how about future proofing and going ddr4 memory and newer cpu?
There is no need for the extra speed. It is just spending money for something you don't need. Kind of like buying a Porsche when a Toyota will do the job. You can, but why. No matter how good the hardware is, you will need to replace it eventually, and the items I pointed out should be good for five or six years, easily, possibly longer depending on your specific needs. You should plan to replace the disk drives on five year cycle and if you want, you can always plan to build a whole new system. Options are plentiful.
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
biggie I need to figure out first is what case to use. I don't want a super huge case like a server case as I don't have a server rack and choose quiet running machines.
was looking at this..
https://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-Rackmount-Computer-Pre-Installed-RSV-L4500/dp/B0091IZ1ZG
I had one of those before. I didn't like it. The drives are not easy to get in and out for when a drive failure happens and the fans are low quality. I think you said that you only wanted six drives. Is that right?
These cases are discontinued, but they make very good tower servers and they drives stay cool and are easy to swap out when you have a failure. It is also super easy to go with eight drives if you want to start with a bit more capacity:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fractal-Design-Define-R5-Black-Silent-ATX-Midtower-Computer-Case/291316926650

I have one of these myself and I can't say enough good things about it. I have to clean the dust filter once a month, but that is my house. Don't ignore it though.
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
so I just got some gift cards (Amazon)... I'm looking for the NAS case first.. possibly. ill look at mobo/cpu/memory too and see what I can pull together... more than 8 so upwards of 15.. so curious what you recommend..
I've got $350 to start with...
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
For the drive controller, I would suggest a SAS controller, just to get all the drives on a single controller. It works better that way. One SAS controller like this can run up to 256 drives by use of expander controllers. We can talk more about that when you need more drives but this will get you to eight drives to start.

Drive Controller: SAS PCI-E 3.0 HBA LSI 9207-8i P20 IT Mode for ZFS FreeNAS - - US $44.88
https://www.ebay.com/itm/192639052923

Data Drive Cables: Mini SAS to 4-SATA SFF-8087 Multi-Lane Forward Breakout Internal Cable - - US $12.99
https://www.ebay.com/itm/371681252206

Thanks @Chris Moore -
so lets talk this.. I'm ready to hit the buy button... but you mentioned.. we can talk more.. what is there to talk about?

I see you said.. lsi 9207-8i but you linked to an lsi 9205 .. .is there a big difference there to worry about?

I see 9300 series too... just go for what you listed? ill click buy once you reply.. thx bud...
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
also.. I'm googling and not finding anything.. but that link says.. 8 port.. but I only see 2 ports.. you put the 1 to 4 cables in.. so yes.. I can use 1 card and get 8 sata now... and you mentioned that this card can do 256 drives by expander controllers... what models are they?

I'm looking at throwing 12x 500gb ssd's together first so just 8 won't cut it...
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
after searching .. I get it now... the cards that say 8 port.. are not 8 ports.. are 2 port x 2 breakout cables for 8 sata... ahhhhhh

so I have 6x sata 3 on mobo and 8 on that card would get me 14... so I'm also now seeing that I will fall short on power adapters.. hah..

but to that.. I see now that I actually want like a 4 port sas extender as that will support 16 cards plus my 6 on mobo... for 22.. that is better...
 

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79

TeleFragger

Newbie
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
79
@Chris Moore - hope I didn't scare you away!!!!!

ok sas to sata cables ordered.... got a guy on servethehome that is setting me up with 2x sas 8 port cards - so I'm getting there.

I have a cpu sitting that I can use - found it thrown in my junk box.. hah
e5-2620 v3 - FCLGA2011-3

My friend that gave me the i5, etc... gave me memory to see if I can use it. seems all ECC... as its 4gb dims no need to him and I understand I may need more but at least a few to get me going.
2x HYNIX HMA451R7MFR8N-TF 4GB SERVER DIMM DDR4 PC17000(2133) REG ECC 1.2v 1RX8 288P 512MX72 512mX8 CL15
https://www.amazon.com/HMA451R7MFR8N-TF-SERVER-PC17000-512MX72-512mX8/dp/B00SK7NMD2

2x Samsung Server Memory 4GB PC4-17000 DDR4-2133MHz ECC Registered CL15 288-Pin DIMM 1.2V Single Rank Memory Module Mfr P/N M393A5143DB0-CPB
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-PC4-17000-DDR4-2133MHz-Registered-M393A5143DB0-CPB/dp/B01IEEXUWS

9x Timetec Hynix 4GB DDR4 2400MHz PC4 19200 Registered ECC 1.2V CL17 1Rx8 Single Rank 288 Pin RDIMM Server Memory Ram Module Upgrade (HMA451R7AFR8N) (4GB)
https://www.amazon.com/Timetec-2400MHz-Registered-Upgrade-HMA451R7AFR8N/dp/B06Y5YVP3Q


So what would be a good motherboard that supports any of that ram (prefer the bottom as 9x .. even if used 6x would be 24gb) and that cpu?
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,588
Top