FreeNAS cryptovirus resiliance

kenster

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS and considering it very seriously as the file system of choice due to it's ability to create snapshots and replicate them offsite. The snapshots are a great way to protect against cryptoviruses on the local network (barring an root compromise on the FreeNas obviously) that could delete my snapshots

So my question is. If my local FreeNAS was root compromised by something sitting on my network that captures my root credentials and I've setup remote snapshot replication to a remote FreeNAS, does the local root access give enough access to the remote Freenas to destroy the backup?

What happens if my pool was destoryed, am I still able to recover the remote snapshots back into a new recreated pool?

fracai

Guru
If your local system is sending snapshots to a remote system and the local root is compromised, yes the remote duplicate could be destroyed. The local credentials would be enough to connect to the remote and destroy the snapshots.

Another way to do this would be to have the remote system connect and pull the snapshots. Your local system wouldn't have a way to initiate the connection to the remote so it would, at worst, have to wait for the connection and try to ride it back to destroy the backups. Nothing is impossible, but I would think the remote side initiating the snapshot transfer would be harder to compromise.

If your pool is destroyed and the remote snapshots are available, you would absolutely be able to rebuild the local system and then restore the snapshots to your new local pool.

Jessep

Patron
Best way to protect from Crypto is remove local admin from all systems/users. For a windows shop use LAPS. This removes 80%+ of attacks alone.
Then use a on-click virus/malware scanner like Bitdefender, and a good SPAM filter like Mimecast or Proofpoint.

Any online backup can be compromised if a root account is compromised.