Ethernet type pppoe inside of tap interface for vm bhyve

lexxai

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
33
I create VM machine with freebsd on FreeNAS and want run inside vm PPPOE server.
But tap interface can't see any packets of ether type 0x8863.

Where it can be ?

ifconfig
At HOST:
Code:
ifconfig bridge2
bridge2: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        ether 02:a2:bf:XX:XX:XX
        nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
        groups: bridge
        id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
        maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
        root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
        member: tap1 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
                ifmaxaddr 0 port 16 priority 128 path cost 2000000
        member: lagg0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
                ifmaxaddr 0 port 6 priority 128 path cost 10000

Inside of VM:
Code:
vtnet1: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 9000
        options=80028<VLAN_MTU,JUMBO_MTU,LINKSTATE>
        ether 00:a0:98:XX:XX:XX
        hwaddr 00:a0:98:XX:XX:XX
        inet6 fe80::2a0:98XX:XXXX:1664%vtnet1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
        inet 172.16.XX.XX netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.XX.255
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T <full-duplex>
        status: active


tcpdump
Code:
>tcpdump -i bridge2 -e ether proto 0x8863
04:09:28.994923 d8:50:e6:41:XX:XX (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype PPPoE D (0x8863), length 96: PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0x210000000000000036000000]

result OK

Code:
tcpdump -i lagg0 -e ether proto 0x8863
04:13:25.107190 d8:50:e6:41:XX:XX (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype PPPoE D (0x8863), length 96: PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0x23000000000000003A000000]

result OK

Code:
> tcpdump -i tap1 -e ether proto 0x8863

result noting
 
Last edited:
D

dlavigne

Guest
I'm pretty sure this isn't supported. Do you have another system you can use for this purpose, rather than running in a VM on your storage system?
 

lexxai

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
33
Hyper-V - Ok
Proxmos KVM - OK
bhyve on FreeNAS - blocked

moved to Hyper-V
 

AnRkey

Cadet
Joined
Jul 13, 2019
Messages
2
I have the same problem here, on 11.2-U4. I tried using pppoe from within a VM and its blocked. Can anyone shed some light on the subject of virtual switch or bridge configuration?
 

AnRkey

Cadet
Joined
Jul 13, 2019
Messages
2
Gave that a try and it works for a physical interface, but not over a VLAN.
 

foxi352

Cadet
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
8
That may be true. I have multiple VLAN's on a LAGG for everything except my WAN connection. There i have a physical NIC connected to my modem. Makes me feel safer even if it's probably only psychological ;-)
 

lexxai

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
33
Top