Error "[MiddlewareError: Unable to GPT format the disk "ada1": gpart: geom 'ada1': File exists ]"

jonathanrupp

Dabbler
Ok, I'm new to FreeNAS. And I like it. But this wasn't what I thought I would be doing following my first install. I have a single 3TB Drive installed as our bucket drive. I'm running FreeNAS v11.1-U4. The install was standard, nothing special or notable. However, I'll be honest and say I didn't know what I was doing and went into the drive manufacture process like a RAID device. Not really understanding the backing of the NAS. Needless to say, I then created a volume. I then had a DCHP issue and had to restart the server. When it came back up I went back to where I was and removed the volume and went to the wizard (I thought better). Well I now receive this error below. I'm hoping it's a simple issue. I've tried to destroy the disk but I'm told it's busy. So I'm at a stalemate. Please help !! I'm sure it's a simple fix.

Request Method:

Request URL:

http://x.x.x.x/system/wizard/

Software Version:

FreeNAS-11.1-U4 (89e3d93bc)

Exception Type:

MiddlewareError

Exception Value:

[MiddlewareError: Unable to GPT format the disk "ada1": gpart: geom 'ada1': File exists

]

Exception Location:

./freenasUI/middleware/notifier.py in __gpt_labeldisk, line 359

Server time:

Wed, 23 May 2018 20:04:52 -0400

Traceback

Environment:

Software Version: FreeNAS-11.1-U4 (89e3d93bc)

Request Method: POST

Request URL: http://x.x.x.x/system/wizard/

Traceback:

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/django/core/handlers/exception.py" in inner

42. response = get_response(request)

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/django/core/handlers/base.py" in _legacy_get_response

249. response = self._get_response(request)

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/django/core/handlers/base.py" in _get_response

178. response = middleware_method(request, callback, callback_args, callback_kwargs)