Does FreeNAS really need 8Gb of RAM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neth

Dabbler
Hi!

What's your experience when it comes to RAM usage for FreeNAS?
I'm new to FreeNAS, but when reading different articles etc on the internet I've understood that FreeNAS "needs" 8Gb of RAM to funtion properly. However, now that I have FreeNAS installed and check the memory usage under Reporting it shows that it hardly uses 2Gb of RAM, even when streaming a FullHD movie.

I have 8 Gb of RAM in my server on which I am running FreeNAS. I decied to not run any virtualization or such since FreeNAS alone needed all my RAM. But now I'm not so sure....

So. what's the experience on the board - is 8Gb RAM really needed?

Edit: Adding Image
8UD5P0c.png

mav@

iXsystems
iXsystems
All loads are different, and 8GB is average safe-side recommendation. There were rumors that somebody managed to run ZFS on 32-bit architecture with 256MB of RAM, but it does not mean you can run any serious server with that. FreeNAS itself uses not so much, depending on number of enabled services. But ZFS requires RAM for caching, that is critical for performance. If memory is not enough to store all required metadata, then data access becomes slower. On systems with less then 4GB ZFS by default completely disables prefetch, that significantly reduce performance. Sequential file read in your example is hardly a serious load that requires or can really use much RAM, but there are other much more complicated loads.

joeschmuck

Old Man
What period of time you are showing us is very small, 1 hour and you rebooted in that period of time it looks like. Change the period to 1 week or 1 month and lets see the results please.