Dell R610 and Three Dell R510 and how to LAG them together

Jamison

Cadet
I have NO EXPERIENCE at servers.
Mostly standalone PC
I was recently given (1) R610 and (3) R510 with 12 bay SAS storage.
Dual Xeon E5620
Dual internal HDD
RAM=48GB
iDRAC6
H700
Broadcomm 4 port GB NIC card
Built in 2 port NIC
Each has a working version of Microsoft Server 2008R2

I want to connect them together to make one huge storage under RAID10.
I have a Unifi 24 port switch

I want to utilize all the NIC ports if possible.

My purpose is to install VMS on the R610 and direct all video surveillance recording to the R510's for storage.

Can I please have a thourgh instruction on how to do this?
I would even be willing to pay if needed.
This is also going to be learning lesson for me.

Thanks in advance for the detailed help!!

Would also like to learn how to VLAN this.
I am currently experiencing some lag on my network due to all the IP cameras traffic (21 IP cameras with dual streams)
I've been reading on VLAN and would like to seperate my home PC's, wifi, IoT (alexa and light controlled switches), cameras from each other but still need the ability to use client software on the PC to view the VMS server (R610)

I can't seem to wrap my head around tagging, untagged, trunked, and how I should apply it to case.

Last edited:

kdragon75

Wizard
LAGG is for combination of network ports on one server to provide more bandwidth to many clients. It has nothing to do with combining servers together. The technology for want you want exists but is well beyond your skill set.

I would also not recommend setting up and using vlans untill you understand what they do. If your network is slow from all the cameras, it will likely still be slow with vlans. You need separate switch's or better design for better performance not just logical segregation.