Connecting Windows By iSCSI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kekerusey

Cadet
Hi,

I'm a windows tech with around 20 years experience ... I was there when MS was marketing Windows 286 & 386, the forerunners to the much maligned Windows 3.x so "ancient" doesn't even come close, LOL. I do have some Linux experience but it's mainly mush as I never really "clicked" with it and my current FreeNAS experience is a little under a day. Anyway, I'm new here ... hello me :)

I have a vSphere ESXi v5.5 box at home (core i5, 8GB ram, 3.5TB space) on which I am running a Windows Server 2008 server (HPC edition ... don't ask!) which was built on the same system, as a physical, about 2 years ago and I have P2V then V2V'd it so it is now running as a virtual under ESXi on the same system. I am also running FreeNAS-9.1.1-RELEASE-x64 (a752d35) on the same ESXI installation and it appears to run fine.

Following both the FreeNAS iSCSI documentation and, "Using FreeNAS 8 to Create an iSCSI Target for Windows 7", I have been trying to configure an iSCSI connection.

Looking down the FreeNAS menu system I have (apparently successfully) configured the following:

• Added an extent (as extent1)
  • Added an initiator (ALL/ALL)
  • Added a portal (0.0.0.0:3620)
  • Added a target (as target 1)
  • Added a target/extent (as target1/extent1)
On Target Global Authorisation which I freely admit I don't really "get" I have changed the following:

• Discovery Auth Method: Auto
  • Enable LUC: CHECKED

Authorised Access aside (haven't touched that) I think (not sure) I've done the above correctly but I cannot connect to it using Windows iSCSI initiator (on either my virtual Windows server or my physical Windows 8 client). The Windows connection side seems pretty straightforward by which I mean not much to configure, you just supply IP details and click "Quick Connect" but I get nothing implying I'm doing something wrong at the FreeNAS end.