Citadel - Build Plan and Log

ctag

Patron
Hi,

First of all, thank you for dropping by! I know forums can be a chore for those sharing knowledge to complete noobs, but I really appreciate that this community exists.

I'm hoping to use this thread as a staging area to plan, receive feedback, and then carry out my first FreeNAS project. I'll try to respect your time and not get too off topic, but I do want to be thorough as well.

Current situation:

Personal computers:

• Desktop - 100G root, 500G home, 3.6T lvm-raid
  • Laptop - 100G
Home servers:
  • IRC box - 200G root (20G used)
  • HTTP box - 150G root (10G used)
  • NAS - 3.7T x-raid
  • Security Camera - SD card root, streams video to desktop lvm-raid and internet
My home network is consumer stuff; but it is gigabit, and wired. The home servers are just repurposed old laptops.

The NAS is a sticking point. It's a Netgear ReadyNAS NV+ that I got a while back and installed 3x 2T WD Red disks in. It's just atrociously slow; enough so that I've given up using it to keep regular backups of the other computers and only store long-term documents/pictures/video on it.

The lvm-raid on my desktop is for stuff I'm not planning to keep forever, like the security footage. So it doesn't get bulletproof solutions. I honestly can't even remember what the scheme is for it: if it has any redundancy or is just a few disks striped together... Need to look that up.

FreeNAS plan: