Can't manually assign static IP to this jail

LiquidAurum

Dabbler
I'm new to FreeNAS and creating a jail for plex, and I can't seem to get the static IP to be assigned. Whenever I go in and uncheck DHCP, and put in a static IP but when I go to start the jail I get the following error. I've tried disabling VNET and assigning statically and still don't have any luck. The only thing that truly works is DHCP enabled.

1586374312329.png

1586374333372.png

You need to provide more details. What version are you using? 11.2 Ux? 11.3?

Try updating to 11.3 U3. That fixed, for me at least, a whole bunch of networking issues with plugins/jails.

LiquidAurum

Dabbler
I don't see U3 in the update drop down only U2. I was able to update to U2, but still getting the error :/

Opps... I meant U2.

What I ended up doing when I upgraded from 11.2 U7 to 11.3 is I delete all my plugins, vlans and bridges and re-created them.

There were issues with 11.3 and 11.3 U1 on the networking where I had to use DHCP (fixing their IP addressed using DHCP reservations on the DHCP server) and they worked. With 11.3 U2, I could get rid of DHCP and manually set the IP address/subnet/gateway.

LiquidAurum

Dabbler
Yeah that update didn't work for me as far as fixing the issue. unfortunately, even when running on DHCP I can't seem to ping the damn jail from any device on my network. I can ping out, to google and every other device on the network but can't ping the jail itself.

Post a screenshot of your network configuration (Network | Interfaces).

I'm in the ironic situation where I'm trying to backport my (relatively) complicated setup to your simplier one;)

I don't see any bridges listed. Create a bridge (I think bridge0 - no space) and add re0 as a member.

Then under the jail's Advanced | Network configuration set the interface to vnet0:bridge0

LiquidAurum

Dabbler
so possibly some progress? It took it, however now it's showing 2 IP addresses one of which was the old DHCP one