SOLVED Cannot reconnect to AD

Without getting into too many details, I had to build a new domain controller. The old one was trashed. The new DC is up and running with the same domain name, etc. Now I can't reconnect Freenas to Active Directory. I get an error that says MiddlewareError: Failed to reload Active Directory. I followed the steps in section 9.1.2 of the Freenas manual, but it did not help. I've rebooted Freenas and the DC. When I open the shell and run wbinfo, I see the groups from Active Directory, but not the users. Not sure if those groups are left over from the previous connection.
I'm new at Freenas and have no idea what else to try. Can anyone help?

I figured out the problem. I didn't notice before, but the time on the new DC was 5 hours off. I fixed the time and then I was able to connect to AD again.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I figured out the problem. I didn't notice before, but the time on the new DC was 5 hours off. I fixed the time and then I was able to connect to AD again.

That happens more frequently than you'd think. It's the most common reason for failing to join an AD domain. :)
There are plans to have FreeNAS check these externalities when you're configuring AD integration and generate alerts.

Zyrusvirus

Dabbler
Hi Friends. I have the same problem. My Windows System says example 10:00 PM and my FreeNAS also 10:00 PM.
When i will connect to my AD, says FreeNAS [MiddlewareError: Active Directory failed to reload.
Will it still be the same mistake?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi Friends. I have the same problem. My Windows System says example 10:00 PM and my FreeNAS also 10:00 PM.
When i will connect to my AD, says FreeNAS [MiddlewareError: Active Directory failed to reload.
Will it still be the same mistake?

If you're on FreeNAS 11.1-U6, then you can try out the following diagnostic script. Copy it to the local filesystem and run "python ad_verifier.py". It might help point to where the problem is.