Backup encryption geli keys/Passphase not working

BBishop

Cadet
I'm not sure where to start, but I have been using Freenas for 3 years without any issue until today. Currently, the issue is that I have a USB boot volume has been marked as DEGRADED for the last 3 months (finally found time to fix the issue.....) and I didn't create a mirror..... I know lesson learnt. Previously of having this issue I would :
  1. Back up config (System --> General) and pool encrypted keys
  2. Re-install Freenas on new USB
  3. Upload config
  4. Unencrypt Pools with geli keys or passphrase
Unfortunately when I try that now, my config restores perfectly fine but when I upload the decryption key for the storage pools or enter my passphrase (saved in a password manager) I get the following error:
Code:
Error: Traceback (most recent call last):

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/tastypie/resources.py", line 219, in wrapper
    response = callback(request, *args, **kwargs)

File "./freenasUI/api/resources.py", line 949, in unlock
    form.done(obj)

File "./freenasUI/storage/forms.py", line 2847, in done
    raise MiddlewareError(msg)

freenasUI.middleware.exceptions.MiddlewareError: [MiddlewareError: Volume could not be imported: 8 devices failed to decrypt]

From the logs files, it states that the decryption key is incorrect as well as my passphrase. If I remove the new USB then Boot off the DEGRADED USB and use the same decryption key and passphrase, then the pools unencrypt fine, which doesn't make sense. Not sure what I am doing wrong, please see my configuration below:

Build: FreeNAS-11.2-U5
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 v6
Motherboard: SuperMicro X11SSH-F
Memory: 48GB (Micron 2133Mhz DDR4 ECC)
Storage: 8x4TB Seagate IronWolf

I did try to add a mirror to the boot environment that is DEGRADED and boot off the mirror USB but this didn't work (used a USB with the same GiB as the original DEGRADED USB) as I received the following error:

Code: