Backing up Windows Servers to FreeNas with an air gap to circumvent ransomware attacks.

Dixeritis

Dabbler
I am a Sys Admin for a school district, this is my first job in the IT field so I am definitely more of a Jr admin. Two weeks before school started we were hit with ransomware, this is only after me being in the field for just over a year. As you can imagine I had my work cut out for me and 8 months later my plate isnt any lighter. Our saving graces are that the Director got our email moved to O365 and we had a DC left in Azure before the attack. That was it. We lost EVERYTHING. We were "operational" in two weeks (two 80hour weeks, pay stops at 35 hours fyi) we just had no bells or whistles.

Here we are 8 months later, in a department with no budget so I am looking for a free backup solution. I have VERY minute experience with FreeNas, but had some hands on with UnRaid but after some research I learned that FreeNas is a significantly better storage solution. Here is what it is running on (spare server we have):
2x Xeon E5-2680v2
384gb ECC Ram
1x280gb SSD Boot
12x4 TB Hdds
1 Pool with 2x6 VDevs

The title describes what I am trying to do, an automated backup solution with an air gap so ransomware can not affect it. Like I said I have no idea on how to accomplish this so any and all help is welcome.

netprince

Cadet
What kind of data are you trying to backup on the windows servers? File servers or application services running on a VM?

I backup file servers by scheduling weekly rsync/robocopy to a freenas SMB share, then in freenas I schedule regular snapshots of the backed up data in case I need to recover from ransomware. I make sure to have snapshots for at least 6 weeks (sometimes 12 weeks) to make sure I have at least some clean snapshots if ransomware is reported.