Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

at my wits end with this

Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
383
Thanks
193
#21
After looking into further it looks like the cpu may be the issue. It might be a bios needing to be upgraded to work with
I did a quick search for that CPU and came up mostly empty. What spec sheet from Intel are you looking at for it?
 

ChriZ

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Mar 9, 2015
Messages
273
Thanks
60
#24
From what I can see the specific part number (ct2k102464bd160b ) is listed as desktop NON-ECC
That would explain the issue..
The compatible module for your mobo is CT102472BD160B
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,783
Thanks
3,021
#25
If you need an updated BIOS, see if the option exists to upgrade your BIOS via the IPMI. I don't bother to keep track of which boards offer this. Some need to be unlocked via a key.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
383
Thanks
193
#29
CT102472BB160B-DDR3-PCE-12800R-Server-RAM How about this?
That's registered ECC, you need unbuffered ECC.
Crucial has a really nice memory selection tool. Here is the list of memory they list as compatible with your board.

You'll note that the memory I use for my X9SCM-F is listed, the CT102472BD160B. You also have the option of smaller modules, but i recommend you go with the 8GB DIMMs to make upgrading easier in the future.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
Thanks
1
#32
Crucial has a really nice memory selection tool. Here is the list of memory they list as compatible with your board.

You'll note that the memory I use for my X9SCM-F is listed, the CT102472BD160B. You also have the option of smaller modules, but i recommend you go with the 8GB DIMMs to make upgrading easier in the future.
I actually plugged that part number in to amazon and that's how I got the memory I have....I didn't read it thoroughly
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
Thanks
1
#33
Had an opportunity at work to dig through the Server scrap pile. (It was REALLY slow LOL) Found a readynas motherboard that timed out of our cycle. Still works fine has RAM CPU Etc, chassis is trash.
Part Number SuperMicro x7sb3-ni015. Would this be something I could convert over for freenas?
 

anmnz

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Feb 17, 2018
Messages
187
Thanks
104
#34
You may be able to make it work, but performance and power efficiency will be horrible. I think it's fair to say that the general consensus on the forums is that Supermicro X9 and later are fine (Sandy Bridge brought in massive improvements in power efficiency, notably in consumption at idle) but X8 and earlier are better avoided.

You could also look around the forums for explanations for why an FSB is particularly bad for FreeNAS performance, like
https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/fsb-bottlenecks.46302/
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,783
Thanks
3,021
#38
I know there are better discussion threads out there but that was the best I could pull up quickly. Kingston got a bad reputation with a bunch of users here on the forum because Kingston's Hynix-sourced parts were the only ones that worked..? Didn't work...? I don't remember and I have no time to figure it out. But feel free to search.

Just know that the E3 v2 parts are problematic with certain kinds of memory that you might reasonably think "should" work. It is the CPU (and/or memory), not you.
Is that what you meant when you were talking about Kingston?
 
Top