Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

at my wits end with this

madmikeee

Newbie
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
x9scm-f intel xeon e3 1238v2 crucial ram

am i missing something???? No matter what i do i get the memory error tones. Reseated everything, no bent pins on the cpu, ram tested in every slot. replaced board ,can anyone help, i am about to throw this thing through a wall. I followed all the suggested hardware recommendations
 

garm

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
1,223
sure, but have you ruled it out? Is the memory compatible?
 

PhiloEpisteme

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
746

anmnz

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Feb 17, 2018
Messages
251

PhiloEpisteme

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
746
Um no it appears to be the code for a "kit" of 2x 8GB parts?
:blink: ha, you're right! I promise I can read . . .

Anyway, I had a similar issue with the same board and I just took each stick and tried every RAM slot until it worked. If that doesn't work either your board or ram is bad?
 

Constantin

Vampire Pig
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
594
Also check the RAM SKUs very carefully - are they "known good" with that particular motherboard?

For example, my MB has a limited set of "tested good" RAM SKUs listed for it. When I recently bought RAM for my current motherboard, both sets of vendors sent me sticks with one letter deviating from the "tested good" SKU at Supermicro. Each set of sticks would work as a pair, as long as I did not add any more memory (i.e. only use two slots). Moving sticks around made no difference, etc. Long story short, the system would not post using all four sticks until I got a new four-some of RAM sticks whose SKUs matched the "tested good" SKU to the last letter. Sum total difference between the first set and second set of sticks? (drumroll please...)

... the "die revision" of the RAM chips on the sticks. It can be something as minor as that.
 
Last edited:

madmikeee

Newbie
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
The crucial ram i have shows compatible. Can someone recommend a truly compatible part number that they have used? I just want this done, i've been working on this for months
 

PhiloEpisteme

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
746
Check my signature, I use the same board, X9SCM-F and 2x8GB modules with part numbers CT102472BD160B and mine works just fine.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
11,834
Ivy Bridge had a problem with RAM. Some of the parts that worked fine with Sandy Bridge and were listed as compatible for an X9 mainboard were not actually compatible with Ivy CPU's. This caught manufacturers with their pants down.

https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/memory-ecc-for-supermicro-x10-boards.19280/#post-107547

I know there are better discussion threads out there but that was the best I could pull up quickly. Kingston got a bad reputation with a bunch of users here on the forum because Kingston's Hynix-sourced parts were the only ones that worked..? Didn't work...? I don't remember and I have no time to figure it out. But feel free to search.

Just know that the E3 v2 parts are problematic with certain kinds of memory that you might reasonably think "should" work. It is the CPU (and/or memory), not you.

Many of you kids on this forum are fortunate in that you're young enough not to have suffered through eras when RAM compatibility issues were *expected* and not an unusual thing... ;-)
 

Constantin

Vampire Pig
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
594
The problematic memory in my case was in fact a Hynix product.

The first batch of RAM sticks all had the first die revision (i.e. older design) RAM chips whereas the later batch had the newer revision. Thankfully, Hynix does publish a RAM stick decoder, the Amazon seller had to take their sticks back without further ado, and the ebay seller agreed to send me the correct SKU instead. All ended up OK, but it was a couple of days of hair pulling.

Plus, I am not a fan of handling nor of pulling/reinserting sticks into motherboards. Every manual interaction is another opportunity to break something or to shock something to oblivion even if one wears a ground strap. It is interesting how difficult it is for something that allegedly is a commodity product (with a alleged well-defined design) to have issues re: compatibility. No wonder that the motherboard OEMs have to publish specific "known good" compatibility lists rather than being able to specify the general spec and be done with it.
 

madmikeee

Newbie
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
Many of you kids on this forum are fortunate in that you're young enough not to have suffered through eras when RAM compatibility issues were *expected* and not an unusual thing... ;-)

LOL Hence my frustration, i feel like i'm back in the day again..
 

PhiloEpisteme

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
746
According to your sig you have a Different mobo part number man.
Gah, I quit. I gotta stop reading on my phone. I do? The first post lists, x9scm-f and my backup NAS uses X9SCM-F. I copy-pasted this time so at least it isn't a typo.
 

madmikeee

Newbie
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
30
After looking into further it looks like the cpu may be the issue. It might be a bios needing to be upgraded to work with this cpu issue .
 
Top