Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Add Cloud Flare as a dynamic DNS provider

dlavigne

Storage Engineering
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
11,667
Thanks
1,019
#2
If you decide to make the actual feature request at bugs.freenas.org, post the issue number here.
 

ovizii

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
424
Thanks
29
#3
I just checked the ticket above and found this:

Jordan Hubbard wrote:
> BRB: There are already 14 different dydns providers in the drop-down - we're loathe to add more. A git pull request might be accepted if someone else wishes to do this.
Cloudflare is not just a DYNDNS provider, its one of the best and biggest CDNs around and many people use it simply because of its totally free DNS Management interface which is awesome. So if one already manages his domains there one could simply use a sub/domain one owns for dyndns instead of the "free" variant the existing 14 providers offer.

So I do see the purpose of adding Cloudflare but I'm not a coder so I cannot contribute, just wanted to clarify the initial request.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
21
Thanks
1
#4
Cloudflare is not just a DYNDNS provider, its one of the best and biggest CDNs around and many people use it simply because of its totally free DNS Management interface which is awesome. So if one already manages his domains there one could simply use a sub/domain one owns for dyndns instead of the "free" variant the existing 14 providers offer.
Thank you, that was exactly what i was trying to say.

So I do see the purpose of adding Cloudflare but I'm not a coder so I cannot contribute, just wanted to clarify the initial request.
I'm not a coder my self, but I work as SysAdmin, and I have good understanding in coding.
If any one can point me to the right place, or a commit which added a DynDNS provider in the past, I can replicate the possess for CF as well.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
5,897
Thanks
982
#5
You can use a manual setup to get it working for the time being. If you want a real drop down selection open a bug at bugs.freenas.org
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
5,897
Thanks
982
#7
Looks like you can't add them manually, thought that option would be in the gui since it's a simple catch all. Most people would use ddns on their router not on freenas, do you have that option?
 

ovizii

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
424
Thanks
29
#8
ahm, yes, it would be an option but what router comes with Cloudflare support?
we're not looking for a workaround, just suggesting a useful addition, at least from my perspective.
I can run a cron job inside a jail with the suggested solution by rabin. works fine.
 

m0nkey_

FreeNAS Expert
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
2,735
Thanks
993
#9
Top