Active Directory Authenticated Shares

Status
Not open for further replies.

petranator

Cadet
I have AD setup, and now I'm getting user data just fine.

Problem is, I haven't found anyone who can explain exactly how to set shares so that they authenticate against the domain. The only options in FreeNAS 8 under CIFS are Local Authentication and Anonymous.

In FreeNAS 7, there was also Domain in the drop down, and it worked perfectly.

It's just not there in FreeNAS 8. Anyone have a hack, or an idea of how to use that user info to authenticate shares?

Thanks,

Nate

alistair

Cadet
I second that!

I'm also a newbie @ freeNAS and am having the same battle - how to I assign permissions to a folder from AD? I can see the permissions from the domain controller ( on the freeNAS share ) but when I try to add a user it just drops the addition - no errors.

louis-m

Dabbler
i've sort of got it going.....

For the volume
/mnt/disk1 has root:wheel ugo=rwx

now for the share:

mkdir /mnt/disk1/testshare
#where 'testshare' is the name of you share

chown admin:'domain admins' /mnt/disk1/testshare
#where admin:'domain admins' is the name of the user;group from windows who you want to use testshare

chmod ug=rwx /mnt/disk1/testshare
# so only users and group can read, write and execute to testshare

go to the windows share tab and create a new share and map it to the above share under browse. i only left "browesable to the network" enabled.
give it a few minutes and:
1. i could write/delete files/folders using a windows domain account that I specified above
2. i logged off the above user and logged in with another AD user (normal user) and they could not access the share at all

chmod o=rx /mnt/disk1/testshare
# so that other users can access the share and create folders/files but only delete their own folders/files

other users on AD can now see the share and create/delete their own files etc