Access denied when connecting to share

somonenew

Dabbler
Hello,
I am brand new to FreeNAS.. I have created a share. When I try to connect to it from Windows i get the login box and when I enter my userrname and password I get the following error:

\\192.168.1.115 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the Administrator to find out if you have access permissions.

Multiple connections to a server or shared resource by the same user, using more than one user name is not allowed. Disconnect all previous connections to the server and try again.

somonenew

Dabbler
I have tried to enable guest access and I get the same message (but does not bring up the login box)

melloa

Wizard
Not a lot to go by to help you. Read this and if won't help, please provide your server configuration, shares configuration, from where you are trying to access them, etc.

somonenew

Dabbler
Hello have tried whats in the document and it does not work. All I am doing is creating a share and when I try to connect it asks for a username and password but no matter what creds I use I get access denied.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Verify that your user has traverse rights along the full path to the share. I.e. if the share is "/mnt/tank/foo/bar", your user needs execute (x) on
/mnt/tank
/mnt/tank/foo
/mnt/tank/foo/bar

melloa

Wizard
Hello have tried whats in the document and it does not work. All I am doing is creating a share and when I try to connect it asks for a username and password but no matter what creds I use I get access denied.

See below, the folks here need more to be able to help.

please provide your server configuration, shares configuration, from where you are trying to access them, etc.

somonenew

Dabbler
Verify that your user has traverse rights along the full path to the share. I.e. if the share is "/mnt/tank/foo/bar", your user needs execute (x) on
/mnt/tank
/mnt/tank/foo
/mnt/tank/foo/bar