A way to improve the forum :

jbesclapez

Dabbler
Hello there,

I am a noob at FreeNas.
I am coming from XPenology NAS which was a lot of tweaks/changes to do too...
I ran for years on hackintosh and build my own...
So has you can see, I am a noob in FreeNAS but kind of IT literrate.
I do not keep up with hardware changes though...

I would like to have a section in the forum BUYERS GUIDE, exactly like they have on the site : https://www.tonymacx86.com/buyersguide/building-a-customac-hackintosh-the-ultimate-buyers-guide/
When you have this, the end user can simply pick parts that will work together.
Most of the home users will work on ATX or ITX... but it is covered too!

As I was telling before I am not hardware literrate to build it myself, but it would be an nice improvement.
It will open FREENAS to more noobs and help them switch to it.

Cheers

Heracles

Wizard
Hi,

I am not hardware literrate to build it myself

The easiest way to achieve a professional system would be to buy a professional enterprise-grade server. If you look at Dell, they have the T-1xx serie that is pretty cheap even brand new. You can also look for some used servers at re-sale price. That way, you can get very professionnal stuff without paying that much. In fact, some of these professionnal servers will end up cheaper than buying multiple separate pieces and glueing them together.

NickF

Guru
There is a hardware guide from IX officially:

Additionally there is a community guide:

Dismayed

Dabbler
I've saved a couple of potential build components in private 'Wish Lists' at Newegg.com. Perhaps we could publish public wishlists and create links so that folks could look at what's needed for various builds. Perhaps a page here could group the links by intended use, such as low volume home file servers, NAS with Plex, etc. I can't volunteer because i'm too much of a newbie.

Dismayed

Dabbler