9.10 Fresh installation issuse

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, Im new to the freeNAS world.

I am installing version 9.10 from a USB drive to a USB drive on the motherboard.

I have followed the 9.10 installation guide up to "2.3.8 Installation complete" where upon the system hangs on the reboot screen as follows:

waiting (max 60 seconds) for system process 'vnlru' to stop... done
waiting (max 60 seconds) for system process 'bufdaemon' to stop... done
waiting (max 60 seconds) for system process 'syncer' to stop...
syncing disks, vnodes remaining... 0 0 done
All buffers synced.
Uptime: 12m37s

The uptime varies from 3 to 15 minutes every time i try to reboot. I get no errors during the instal process, and when i try to boot directly to the boot USB i get a black screen.

This is a fresh install with no data on any of the drives in the system. (apart from the ISO on the installer USB stick)

I have run the install process numerous times successfully up until the reboot. I ran the
Code:
 zpool status freenas-boot 
command with no signs of an ongoing scrub.

I have run out of ideas, and i have not been able to find this issue resolved on the forum. If i has been and im just blind, please point me in the right direction.

Thanks

system specs:

i3-6100
AsRock C236 WSI mini itx
16GBs kingston ECC ddr4-2133
Kingston 120gb ssd
4 3TB seagate barracuda HDDs
16GB sandisk usb boot device

gpsguy

Since you don't have any data on the system yet, I'd try installing it to your SSD instead of the flash drive. At a minimum it would rule out a flaky flash drive.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Are you installing as BIOS or UEFI? Try the opposite but BIOS is the most compatable.

I agree with @gpsguy that you should try a different boot device like the SSD. BTW, what is your intentions for the SSD of not a boot device?